Humane Fort Wayne operates entirely on the generosity of animal lovers in our community. Humane Fort Wayne is a no-kill shelter! Humane Fort Wayne is 100% donor-funded.
Instagram Twitter Facebook
Navigation Toggle

Who We Are

Pitbull

OUR VALUES 

Everything we do—from adoption and retention programs to clinic services, community outreach and education—stems from our core value, love. We believe when pets have safe and loving homes, they thrive. And with their loving companionship, so do we.

We’re for people. We’re for pets. We’re for Love, Unleashed.

Dog balancing tennis ball

OUR MISSION

From adoption and pet retention programs, to spay/neuter and wellness services, to community outreach and education, we work tirelessly to prevent the incidence of euthanasia and to promote the happiness, safety, and well-being of pets and the people who love them.

Girl with cat

OUR PHILOSOPHIES

Our organization pushes the boundaries. We never say “good enough, is good enough” and we believe in continual education. We look for the best training so we can care for the animals of northeastern Indiana in the very best ways possible. Below are some of our core philosophies.

Fear Free Shelter 

Our staff is trained in and follows the Fear Free way of caring for every animal who is entrusted to us. We understand the importance of treating both a pet’s physical and mental well-being and are equipped with the knowledge and skills to do so.

Dogs Playing for Life

Fully trained in Dogs Playing for Life, our shelter utilizes proven playtime techniques to strengthen the quality of life of our shelter’s dogs. Many shelters do not have the ability to meet a dog’s physical and emotional needs, especially those dogs viewed as aggressive. At Humane Fort Wayne, we implement a hands-on approach that allows dogs time to play in groups every day! Thus, improving their interaction and communication with both other dogs and humans.

Cat Pawsitive

We’re an approved Jackson Galaxy Cat Pawsitive Pro (CPP) shelter and we 
are raising pawsitively happier cats! That means we use a training approach that helps shy, scared and overly exuberant cats in shelters become their 
most lovable selves in order to find forever homes. Our staff is trained in this signature program that uses positive reinforcement, so our cats are happy, loveable and adoptable.

Shelter Receiving

Humane Fort Wayne is working to match pets and owners all across Allen County. In partnership with the ASPCA, we are a receiving shelter for the transport of dogs to Fort Wayne from overpopulated shelters around the country. Because of this program, dogs from all over the United States find their forever homes with our community.

MEET OUR TEAM

Leadership & Coordinators

Jessica Henry
Executive Director
260 744-0454 x201
jhenry@humanefw.org

Tanya Gallo
Clinic Operations Manager
260 440-8700
tgallo@humanefw.org

Stephanie Tippmann
Animal Care Manager
260 744-0454 x210
stippmann@humanefw.org

Kris Brandt
Adoptions & Foster Manager
260 744-0454 x213
kbrandt@humanefw.org

Melissa Gibson
Community Relations Manager
260 744-0454 x209
mgibson@humanefw.org

Kimi Eckman
Executive Assistant
260 744-0454 x201
keckman@humanefw.org

Ashley Price
Marketing Coordinator
260 744-0454 x211
aprice@humanefw.org

Melissa Osborn
Pet Promises & Community Outreach Coordinator
260 744-0454 x205
mosborn@humanefw.org

Dani Wagner
Volunteer Coordinator
260 744-0454 x204
dwagner@humanefw.org

Emily Gage
Community Cat Coordinator
260 440-8893
egage@humanefw.org

Beth Squires
Development Manager
260 744-0454 x217
bsquires@humanefw.org

Jeff Brachmann
Canine Behavior Manager
260 744-0454
jbrachmann@humanefw.org 

Christien Pozorski
Administrative Assistant
260 744-0454 x207
cpozorski@humanefw.org 

Dr. Ericka Bates
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine
260 420-7729

Dr. Carol Fretz
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine
260 420-7729

Dr. Kendra Oglesby
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine
260 420-7729

Dr. Sam Gamble
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine
260 420-7729

Board of Directors

Kathryn Roudebush
Chair

Terah Brogan

Patrick Davis

Patt Kite

Melissa McKown
Vice Chair

Patrick Buesching

Kathleen Smith

Mike McCartin

Lona Pritchard
Secretary

Ryan Cassedy

Erika Halliwill

Karen Potter

Reneta Thurairatnam
Treasurer

Julie Chao, MD

Michelle Hipskind

Sign Up for Our Newsletter!

Select list(s) to subscribe to


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Humane Fort Wayne, 4914 S. Hanna Street, Fort Wayne, IN, 46806, http://www.humanefw.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact
Contact Icon

Hours & Locations

SHELTER:
4914 S. Hanna Street
Fort Wayne, Indiana 46806
Phone: 260 744-0454

SHELTER HOURS:
Monday: CLOSED
Tuesday–Friday: 11AM–6PM
Saturday–Sunday: 11AM–4PM

CLINIC:
1333 Maycrest Drive
Fort Wayne, Indiana 46805
Phone: 260 420-7729

CLINIC HOURS:
Monday–Friday: 8AM–5PM
Saturday–Sunday: CLOSED